Creativity gives insight

“Creativity provides insight into my own being. In fact, it is like therapy enabling me to get to know myself better. I seem to be looking for a way into the mysteries of the subconscious. It’s not really self-expression I am seeking, but rather the tools of self-expression: discovering what my creation will reveal about myself. Art helps me reflect on, analyse and expand my personality. I long to be creative, and it’s not just because I need to deal with my emotions. It’s the tension between contradictions, and the need to resolve doubt that drives me to be creative. Drawing weird stuff, painting pictures, decorating rooms, arranging shells in the sand — these are all creative processes that allow my introspection to roam. I can trace my life through the different ways I have exercised my creativity. For me, art is there somehow to make sense of life. I am more attracted to artistic activities that demand reflection, planning and solitude, and the personal discoveries I make often provide answers for others, too.”

Leave a comment?

